Advice, Skincare, Vegan, Yoga

Cruelty Free Make Up Brands: High Street UK

September 6, 2017 • By

Cruelty Free Make Up Brands

I’ve been obsessed with make-up since I was 10 years old and my mother bought me a little pink book that contained make-up tips; how to apply lipstick correctly etc. I chose the book, she wasn’t forcing it upon me, so let’s not venture near the ‘should children wear make-up debate’.

I was a girly little girl, I applied my mums lipstick and blush and sprayed her perfume and strutted around in her red sling back stilettos from a young age (not outside the house). As I’ve gotten older this obsession has only grown and I’m now the proud owner of a vast, make-up artist like cosmetic collection. However, I needed to find an accessible way to merge my love of make-up with my belief that no animal should be tested on for the sake of a damn lipstick.

Here are the most accessible cruelty free make up brands in the UK, all can be found on the high street.

Note: Brands marked with an * have a parent company that is not cruelty free, i.e. L’Oréal/ Estee Lauder, but the brands listed below do not test on animals.

Click the brands to shop the range!


Anastasia Beverly Hills –SpaceNK

Bare Minerals – House of Fraser, John Lewis, Debenhams, Boots

Hourglass Cosmetics – SpaceNK

Iconic London –House of Fraser, Harvey Nichols

Illamasqua – Selfridges, Debenhams

Marc Jacobs Beauty – Selfridges, Harvey Nichols, John Lewis

NYX* – Boots

Pur Minerals – Marks & Spenser

Smashbox* – Boots

The Body Shop*

Too faced* – Boots, House of Fraser, Debenhams, Selfridges

Urban Decay* – Boots, House of Fraser

Charlotte Tilbury* – Selfridges, John Lewis

Becca* – SpaceNK

Eyeko -Marks & Spencer, SpaceNK

By Terry – SpaceNK

Pixi – Marks & Spencer

Barry M – Boots, Superdrug

Gosh – Superdrug

Sleek Make-up – Superdrug


Disclaimer: as of September 2017 all the listed brands are cruelty free. If these ever change, or the brand starts selling into China I will update asap.

Advice, Chakras, Yoga

A Beginners Guide to Chakras

August 24, 2017 • By


The chakras are vortexes within the body that allow energy to move through them. Often described as ‘spinning vortexes’, there are 7 main chakras that align the spine. Through the movement of yoga (asana) it is said we can unblock trapped energies from our chakras, allowing us to become free, calm, at peace and enlightened. This is Samhadi, the 8 limb of the yoga practice.


The 7 chakras line the spine at specific locations and each chakra is responsible for our emotions, thoughts and feelings.


Root Chakra: The first chakra is located at the base of the spine and is responsible for our feelings of grounding and security

Name: Muladhara

Posture to access chakra: Mountain Pose

Colour: Red

Sacral Chakra: The second chakra is located in the lower abdomen and is responsible for our sense of pleasure, sexuality.

Name: Swadhisthana

Posture to access chakra: Cobra Pose, Upward Facing Dog, Bow

 Colour: Orange

Solar Plexus Chakra: The third chakra is located in the upper abdomen and is responsible for our self-confidence and self-esteem.

Name: Manipura

Posture to access chakra: Boat Pose

Colour: Yellow

Heart Chakra: The forth chakra is located at the heart centre and is responsible for our ability to love.

Name: Anahata

 Posture to access chakra: Backbends (Urdhva Danurasana)

 Colour: Green

Throat Chakra: The fifth chakra is located in the throat and is responsible for our ability to communicate well.

Name: Vishudha

Posture to access chakra: Shoulder Stand

Colour: Blue

Third Eye Chakra: The sixth chakra is located just between the eyes on the forehead and is responsible for our ability to focus and our intuition.

Name: Anja

Posture to access chakra: Childs Pose

Colour: Indigo

Crown Chakra: The seventh chakra is located at the very top of our forehead and is responsible for our spirituality and pure bliss.

Name: Sahasrara

Posture to access chakra: Headstand, Meditation

Colour: Violet or bright white